MODWI.com : Missouri DWI Defense Attorney

MO Speeding Tickets | MO DWI | Request Information
Frequently Asked Questions | DWI FAQ | Chemical Test Refusal | DWI Glossary
Missouri DWI info | Field Sobriety Testing (SFST) | Administrative Alcohol Arrest Information | Chemical Tests | Refused to Blow | DWI Glossary
Minor in Possession (MIP) Law | Abuse and Lose Law | SATOP YCIP |

Chemical Test Refusal FAQ

Missouri Administrative Alcohol


Did you refuse to blow?  This page answers the most frequently asked questions the Department of Revenue Drivers License Bureau gets about and Chemical Test Refusals and issues relating thereto:  Driver License Revocation and Missouri's Implied Consent Law; Petitions for Review; Stay Orders; SR-22; SATOP; Administrative Hearing; and Reinstatement.


 

Chemical Test Refusal FAQ

from the MIssouri Department of Revenue

How can I get my driver license back when it is revoked for a chemical refusal?

When will I get my driver license back after its revoked for refusing to blow?

Can I have any type of driving privilege while I am serving my revocation on a chemical refusal?

Will I have to retake my test?

What is an SR-22 insurance filing?

How long do I need the SR-22 insurance filing?

Why do I need to complete a Substance Abuse Traffic Offenders Program (SATOP)? I was not convicted.

Where do I get information about SATOP classes?

How do I request a hearing?

When will the chemical revocation come off my driver record?

Missouri DUI DWI Defense Law Attorneys | Refusal to Blow Driver License Revocation

How can I get my driver license back when it is revoked for a chemical refusal (refused to blow)?

Send the following items to the Driver License Bureau, P.O. Box 200, Jefferson City, MO 65105-0200, before your revocation period ends.

Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program (SATOP) completion form or a comparable program completion form. The Division of Alcohol and Drug Abuse will send this form directly to us after you complete the program.

$45 reinstatement fee. Money order or personal check is acceptable. Please include your full name, address, date of birth, and driver license number.

Back to Top

When will I get my driver license back?

If you have met your reinstatement requirements, you can get your driver license back one year from the starting date of your revocation. We will send the driver license back to you with your reinstatement notice.

Back to Top

Can I have any type of driving privilege while I am serving my revocation on a chemical refusal?

After you serve the first 90 days of your revocation, you may be eligible for a hardship license (Limited Driving Privilege). Click on one of the following for more information.

How do I file the necessary forms in order to get my license back?

What is Missouri's Limited Driving Privilege (LDP)?

How do I apply for an LDP?

NOTE: Only one Limited Driving Privilege (LDP) can be given to you in a five-year period. After September 30, 2005, a person cannot obtain a hardship license to drive a commercial motor vehicle.

Download and complete an Application for Limited Driving Privileges (Form 4595). If you are eligible, an LDP may be issued to you after you file an SR-22 with our office.

Back to Top

Will I have to retake my test?

You will have to retake your test if your driver license has been expired for more than six months.

Back to Top

What is an SR-22 insurance filing?

It is a form from your insurance company that shows you have liability insurance. (Click here to see an example of the SR-22 form)

Back to Top

How long do I need the SR-22 insurance filing?

The SR-22 is not required for reinstatement on a chemical refusal; however, the SR-22 is required if you file for a Limited Driving Privilege. The SR-22 must be kept in effect until the Limited Driving Privilege expires.

Back to Top

Why do I need to complete a Substance Abuse Traffic Offenders Program (SATOP)? I was not convicted.

If you have an alcohol-related offense, such as a chemical revocation, on your driver record, the law requires you to complete a SATOP for reinstatement.

Back to Top

Where do I get information about SATOP classes?

For information on SATOP classes, CLICK HERE.

Back to Top

How do I request a hearing?

You must petition for a hearing before the Circuit or Associate Circuit Court in the county where the arrest/stop occurred. A petition for review must be filed within 30 days from the date of offense.  We can help.  CLCK HERE for a free consultation with an experienced Missouri DUI / DWI defense lawyer at MODWI.com.

Back to Top

When will the chemical revocation come off my driver record?

Chemical revocations are a permanent part of the record and can never be removed.

Back to Top

Chemical Test Refusal Revocation Reinstament FAQ Refused to Blow

About Us | Site Map | Legal Notice | Contact Us | The choice of a lawyer is an important decision and should not be based solely upon advertisements.
Copyright 1999-2009 MODWI.com. All rights reserved. This web site, and all information contained in this web site, is for general informational purposes only. This web site is not intended to be a substitute for specific legal advice about any legal case or matter, or to provide legal advice regarding any specific cases or legal matters, but only to provide general information regarding services offered. Your accessing, viewing, use, or response to this web site does not create an attorney-client relationship. An attorney-client relationship is created only upon our acceptance of your case after consultation and your full payment of attorney's fees and your agreement to pay fines and court costs in a timely manner.